Scene Out My Window

Late evening and the bluejays are active. The sun has played musical chairs with the clouds today.

Out on the old sand mound, a black cat naps lazily between the blackberry vines. Soon twilight will fall, and perhaps he will go on the prowl for some poor, hapless field mouse.

Humidity hangs in the air like a wet blanket, and the trees seem still until I glance to the top and notice a little stirring in the branches.

The turkey oaks never seem to fare well in the brutal August heat. Spring’s green shimmer fades from their leaves and turns them brown around the edges.

I watch as a lone bird swoops through the oaks and disappears into the woods beyond. And as I drop the curtain on the scene out my window and another day, I imagine she’ll find a place to roost through the long night ahead.

courtesy
Robbie Wright

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment